KPJAYI here I come? (gulp)

My yoga journey here in Mysore took an unexpected turn today. Having heard nothing back from the main shala since my application for March over two weeks ago, I was surprised to find a confirmation email in my inbox this morning. My first thought?

Doh.

That little word (that I use far too much – thanks Homer) speaks volumes. I am feeling pretty mellow and relaxed at the moment, having shed the extra back-bending class and moved to the very laid-back Masterji. Cue Beckymayhem to career into centre-stage with characteristic enthusiastic abandon, complicating my life once more. Can I really face setting my alarm for 5am (or worse) each morning and participating in all the serious prescriptiveness of ashtanga central?

Yet, for all its foibles, my dynamic, naively optimistic ‘let’s just go for it and it’ll all work out fine’ side has led me to some brilliant places and wonderful opportunities. Yes, it has also led me to some disastrous places, but then I’ve always learnt from these, even if it’s just the knowledge that there’s no way in hell I ever want to go back to those places! So, although part of me squirms with reluctance to change my current chilled out Lakshipuram lifestyle, another side is excited that I have the opportunity to see what all the fuss is about, for better or worse. I look forward to practising in a room that allegedly has an unbeatable collective energy, to sneaking peeks out the corner of my eye at people doing the Advanced series, and to being able to participate in shala-based conversations from a position of experience rather than rumour. I think I’ll also be ready to live in sleepy, green leafy Gokulum for a while by March – a city girl I am not.

So, I guess this means that I’m going for it. I am a big lover of motivational cliches, and I wholeheartedly subscribe to the ‘ you will regret the things you didn’t do more than the things you did do’, not least because it justifies my sometimes impulsive behaviour! Also, I coined this one recently (I’m sure it’s been said before, but hey, don’t p*** on my flames):

You win some, you lose some, but you always learn some. 🙂

This entry was posted in Ashtanga yoga, India, Mysore life, Travel, Yoga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to KPJAYI here I come? (gulp)

  1. Rebecca says:

    Congratulations and how exciting!! Your blogs are fascinating, really enjoyable and love your humour and truthfulness. Look forward to hearing all about Mysore and catching up at Stonemonkey next year if you’re about.

  2. frondyoga says:

    Lovely to hear from you Rebecca 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying my ramblings – it’s a real eye-opener being out here – so much food for thought!

  3. Ananya says:

    I want to be at KPJAYI too someday!

Leave a Reply

