The most expensive algae in the world

Can anyone help me out here? Having finally turned veggie this year, I have now become one of those tiresome health-conscious people who ‘worry about their protein intake’. So, after months of various people banging on to me about the wonders of spirulina and its supremacy in the world of protein provision, I decided to join the band-wagon. A trip to Holland and Barrett later, and a disbelief that I had just forked out £12 for a small bag of algae, and I arrived home with the packet below.

DSC_0422[1]

Now, I am like a small child when I buy new things – I have to use them IMMEDIATELY, irrespective of circumstance. As such, I found myself ripping open the bag like an excited labrador and pouring some onto the banana and yoghurt I was eating for pudding. A cloud of green powder exploded across the caravan, covering my face and hands, oops. Using a cloth to rub it off just smeared it into a film of slime, until I looked like I was fully dirted up with army camo. Seriously, this stuff is fine, and I don’t mean its taste. In fact, when I came to try actually eating the stuff, I found it just made my entire dessert taste of pond. Yes, it tastes as bad as it looks.

So now I am stuck with a bag of the stuff, knowing it’s really good for me but not quite knowing what to do with it. A brief online search for recipes didn’t really inspire me, as most brightly suggested ‘adding it to your veggie smoothie’ as though that was already an integral part of my daily diet. I clearly have a long way to go with the whole vegetarian thing…

Still, its credentials are formidable:

  • Comprises 65% protein and essential amino acids;
  • High in essential omega oils (the kind you get from oily fish);
  • Very high in chlorophyll, which removes toxins from the blood and boosts the immune system;
  • Very high in iron;
  • Really effective anti-oxidant – even better at absorbing free radicals than superfoods like blueberries;
  • Significantly more calcium than milk; and
  • Contains loads of additional important vitamins and minerals (cue huge list of impossible to pronounce words that tend to make me zone out).

So if anyone has any advice in how to use it (i.e. how best to mask the fact you’re eating algae grown on the surface of a pond), please do let me know. And likewise I will share any good recipes that I find on here.

In the meantime, Chris and I are now discussing how we can cultivate our own – how hard can it be? For a start, it tastes remarkably like the rather ‘pondy’ water that comes out of our taps in the caravan, which we draw from our large storage water-butt, which in itself is drawn from a bore-hole – perhaps we’re already sitting on our fortune?!

Post-script: I tried putting it on my muesli this morning. The resultant verdigris paste freaked me out rather, but the evidence is below that it actually wasn’t too bad.  The tidemark of green on my lips afterwards was a bit weird though – I felt like some kind of clean-living Joker character.

DSC_0423[1]  DSC_0424[1]

 

Yum (kind of).

 

This entry was posted in Healthy eating and nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The most expensive algae in the world

  1. katy says:

    I bought the very same stuff to add to green juices but I couldn’t stand it! I actually wondered if it was off or something. It was ruining my enjoyment of the juice I was making and I felt like I could smell it for hours afterwards! Urgh!
    Well done for persevering!

    • frondyoga says:

      Thanks Katy – I’ve been putting it in my cereal all week and I’ve almost stopped noticing the slightly pondy flavour now, so think that’s the way forward for me – it’s still alarmingly green though, which seems to put my boyfriend off eating his breakfast, tee hee!

Leave a Reply

